Elephant Alphabet – Resources

August 25, 2011

Elephant argument

Elephant argument

We interrupt our regular broadcast to bring a special message from our sponsors. Actually, I needed a break. I was losing my point of view. Elephants are so adorable, I fell upon them by accident doing research for a jungle scene assignment in my cartooning class. I was surprised to find that the Elephant cam website was much more engaging than the Orangutan cam (they’re more solitary creatures). But then I found the National Geographic articles and that put a politically correct tilt on the drawings. My cartoons are not scientifically accurate (although the body text is based on factual information). I do a lot of anthropomorphism and project human foibles on elephants which I don’t actually think elephants suffer from.

In case you’d like to learn more about elephants, these are some resources I’ve used:

  • Wikipedia
  • Elephant Information Repository
  • SeaWorld Elephant Info Book
  • “Life Among the Elephants”. Life Magazine, Aug. 6, 1971. Iain Douglas-Hamilton.
  • “Orphans No More”. National Geographic. Sept. 2011. Charles Siebert. Photos by Michael Nick Nichols.
  • “Elephants of Samburu” from National Geographic. Sept. 2008. David Quammen. Photos by Michael Nick Nichols.
  • savetheelephants_dot_org

Note: The list above is not comprehensive. There were a lot of zoo websites I also read but after a while you will run across repetitive information on most elephant sites.

Also if you are interested in learning about cartooning, I would recommend my instructor, Neal Yamamoto. He teaches 2 classes through Santa Monica College Continuing and Community Education (Cartooning for Fun & Profit, and Creating Comics & Graphic Novels). I’ve taken the first class and learned a great deal. A classmate recommended the 2nd. Neal impressed us with his wealth of research into the various ways you could sell or make a living from cartoons.

Leave a Reply

